Awards and juries

The International Jury

Matt Lloyd has worked in film exhibition in Scotland for fifteen years. He was short film programmer for Edinburgh International Film Festival 2004-2008; his critical history of EIFF, How The Movie Brats Took Over Edinburgh, was published in 2011. Matt was director of Inverness Film Festival 2006-2008, and produced two unique film festivals for the Oscar-winning actress Tilda Swinton, The Ballerina Ballroom Cinema of Dreams (2008) and A Pilgrimage (2009). He has directed Glasgow Short Film Festival for five years, in which time it has grown from a modest two day event into Scotland’s leading international short film festival. Matt has directed two short fiction films and one short documentary.

Sytske Kok (b 1970) graduated from the Dutch Film academy and the Binger Film lab as a writer and a director. Among other shorts, she has directed the internationally acclaimed The Chinese Wall and the TV film Impasse, for which she wrote the script as well. Over the last years she has focused mainly on script writing. She wrote the script for the TV film Tunnel Vision, directed by Stefano Odoardi, which has been selected and awarded at several international film festivals. Together with Odoardi she is currently developing several feature film projects. Besides writing herself, Sytske teaches scriptwriting at the Schrijversvakschool as well as the Amsterdam Film School and the Art Academy St. Joost in Breda, The Netherlands.

Flavia Ferrucci is the content editor of Good Short Films, Italy’s first online platform entirely dedicated to the short film world. After her degree in Film Studies, she worked with independent distribution companies, acquiring experience in the film industry. In the meantime she started working with various publications as a film and art contributor, and continued to this day. Until 2013, she was an editor for Satellite Voices, an international arts and culture project launched by British magazine Dazed & Confused.

Jannike Åhlund is the former director of Göteborg International Film Festival. As a journalist and a critic she has worked on four national Swedish dailies, television and radio. 1990-95 she was the editor in chief of film magazine Chaplin, a work which rendered her the National Journalism Award in 1994.

That same year she was also the recipient of the Ingmar Bergman Personal Award. Åhlund is also former director of the annual Bergman Week, the artist residency Bergman Estate and the Bergman Center Foundation on Fårö. Presently, she is the editor of Nordic Women in Film, a web portal project about the creative role of women in Nordic film.

Oscar Eriksson is project manager at Swedish Shortfilm c/o Folkets Bio. Since the project started in 2008, a little over one hundred short films have been launched through the project. Some of the films Oscar have been working with is Pussy Have the Power by Lovisa Sirén and Jenifer Malmqvist’s On Suffocation, that was awarded a Guldbagge for Best Short Film in 2014. At present Oscar is working to broaden the Folkets Bio short film project with Swedish Short Film c/o Folkets Bio Made in Botkyrka that will be launched during the spring of 2015. Oscar is also working as festival Director at Sweden´s largest LBTQ film festival Cinema Queer International Film Festival.


The International Competition


Uppsala Film Jackdaw and the prize sum 25 000 SEK. The international jury awards the Uppsala Grand Prix to the director of one of the films in the International Competition. Uppsala Film Jackdaw is the traditional festival bronze statuette, designed by Torbjörn Forsberg.


The award, which consists of 50 000 SEK, is awarded by the Cultural Affairs Board in Uppsala. It is given to a young and promising filmmaker, who pushes the boundaries of film art. The nine nominated films are marked with the Ingmar Bergmans Uppsala logo.


The members of the audience vote for their favourite film in the international Competition.


UR (Swedish Educational Broadcasting Company) will select and award the best short film with dialogue in Arabic, Chinese, Danish, English, Finnish, French, German, Icelandic, Italian, Japanese, Meänkieli, Norwegian, Romani Chib, Russian, Sami, Spanish or Yiddish language. The film should inspire a lust for language and culture in the young audience. The winning film is offered licensing by UR.


The National Jury

Nils-Thomas Andersson graduated from Stockholm University in 2010 with a degree in Cultural and Cinema Studies. Afterwards he started working for the Swedish art house distributor Folkets Bio. Since 2011 he has worked at Filmcentrum Riks as head of acquisitions. He is in charge of the import of children- and youth films, media literacy and film education. In 2014 he became the director of the Antiracist Film Days in Stockholm. The festival screens children’s and youth films that lay emphasis on topics like anti-racism, feminism and human rights

Juhani Alanen was born in 1956 in Kuru, Finland. He studied at the University of Tampere and graduated with an M.Sc. in Marketing. He has worked at the Tampere Film Festival for more than 30 years on various duties and nowadays he is the Executive Director of the festival. Juhani Alanen has been a member of the selection committee of Tampere Film Festival for 10 years. He is curating short film programmes for Tampere Film Festival and Finnish short film programmes for various film festivals.

Kristina Linquist works as a cultural journalist and she will be the new Head of Culture of Upsala Nya Tidning (UNT) in October. In recent years she has worked as a theatre critic and is particularly interested in the newly written theatre and the independent scenes. Kristina Lindquist has been editor in chief for the magazine Ottar and worked at Dagens Nyheter and Sveriges Television (SVT). She has also worked for magazines such as Arena, Bang and Expressen Kultur.


The National competition


The Swedish jury awards the director of one of the films in the National Competition Uppsala Film Jackdaw and 50 000 SEK from the Short Film Commissioner of the Swedish Film Institute Andreas Fock.


1 km 16 mm film from Kameraten and development from stopp.


The audience vote for their favourite short film in The National Competition.

The Childrens’s Film Festival

A jury comprised of children from Gluntens Montessori-School awards the Uppsala Film Jackdaw to the Best Children’s Film.


  • Ekologiskt te från Pekoe